"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

My wonderful wardrobe

12 January 2003 ~ 21:24

Ok, I confess it � I'm a shopaholic. There, I've said it!

The phrase 'Retail Therapy' is something that is often used these days. I think it's something that women really do find relieves stress. For some reason, this doesn't apply to men. On the contrary, most men (and this includes my husband), find shopping extremely stressful.

To be more specific, although I'll happily shop for anything, even window shop, I especially enjoy clothes shopping. Browsing, selecting and trying on different garments; it's just very interesting and enjoyable. It's best done alone or with my mum as I find other people generally act as a distraction, whereas mum likes the same sort of fashions as I do.

Now, I really don't need any more clothes. My large fitted wardrobe is just heaving under the strain of all my stuff, not to mention eight drawers, a suitcase under the bed, a large hamper and loads of hooks on the back of doors. And to give myself credit, I'm not nearly as bad as I used to be. But the fact remains that I've already got enough outfits to wear something different every day for a year. I must have a dozen bikinis and a dozen one piece swimsuits, just for example!

I don't go for all that 'designer' crap. Nope, I prefer the goold 'ole high street. Top Shop, Miss Selfridge, H & M, MK 1, New Look, Next, Dorothy Perkins etc. I'd rather have five tops for �20 each than one for �100. Yes, the designers boast, but the �100 top will last you years! Who are they trying to kid? In a years time I might have gone off it anyway, or it'll be out of fashion, so who cares?

I'm a mini skirt person, myself. I do wear jeans and trousers for a change sometimes, and I have a few long skirts and dresses, but I mainly prefer dresses and skirts just above or just below the knee. Just 'cos I'm in my late thirties now, I don't see why I should dress like an old lady. My legs are neither too fat nor veiny, so why shouldn't I reveal them? Guess I'm just a bit of a girlie girl. And Mark certainly isn't complaining!

And don't even start me on catologues! What could be better than browsing dozens of pages of fashion, all from the comfort of your own living room? It's my idea of Heaven!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-