"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Nannying nonsense

23 January 2003 ~ 10:38

I read the most preposterous thing in the paper yesterday. One of these so-called experts was suggesting that 'family size' chocolate bars, and 'buy one get one free' should be banned, because it is leading to more obesity.

Now let's see. Most people who buy 'family size' chocolate bars probably buy them for�guess what?�a family! And I know when I buy, say, a vegetable lasagne and get one free, one will be for me and the other for Mark. Except I pay for only one. Actually a very good way of saving money. (Of course, I'd prefer plain old lower prices to all this buy one get one free stuff, and so would a lot of customers, but that's a different story.)

In some cases, I think the state does have to act as a nanny. For example, I agree with the compulsory wearing of seat belts, because I know a lot of people simply won't wear them unless they are made to. It's only the same as being made to wear a crash helmet on a motorbike.

But sometimes this 'nannying' goes way, way too far. Why not let's ban alcohol because some people drink themselves to death! Let's ban diet drinks in case it encourages anorexics! And, (this is scarily true) some education authorities have even banned parents from photographing their childrens' Nativity plays 'in case of paedophiles.'

What I'm trying to say is, come on, let's be sensible. Maybe some people do eat a family-sized bar of chocolate all on their own. I've even done it myself an rare occasions�usually Christmas or when feeling really really depressed. But I don't make a habit of it and neither do most people. You can't ban everything because some people will abuse it.

So please, let us get on with making our free choices in a free society and keep your so-called expert opinions to yourself!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-