"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Farewell to an old friend

16 July 2003 ~ 22:20

Last Tuesday I had the unhappy duty of taking my very old, sick rabbit to be put to sleep. Blackie was over nine years old, which is an incredibly good lifespan for a bunny.

We didn't have much choice about putting him down really, because he was as thin as a rake, blind and having a lot of jaw and dental problems. He'd been to see the vet many times and on the last visit, they kept him in for a couple of days. I think he wanted to eat but found it too painful.

I bought Blackie in September 1994 when I saw him in a local pet shop and, having no intention of getting a rabbit, asked if I could cuddle him. I was smitten by his soft fur and decided I wanted more cuddles from him, so he was delivered to my home that evening. My mum paid for his hutch for my birthday.

Since I got Blackie, I've lost 17 pet rats, met my husband and got married, separated from him and got back together, lost my brother to suicide, been to the States seven times, and had three different rabbit hutches. It seems like I've always had him.

Blackie had a small white patch under his chin, 'normal' ears, loved to chew the carpet, and 'mate' with his stuffed animal pigs. He also seemed to think he was human when it came to food and would try to steal things like pasta from my plate.

He really was a fixture of our flat and everytime we go past the space where he was, it takes a moment to realise we'll never see him again.

Blackie will be buried in my mum's garden, and if we ever get another rabbit I hope he or she is as sweet and gentle as our little Blackster.

Good bless our little Bun.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-