"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Getting squashed

16 November 2003 ~ 18:15

Mark and I have just got back from a Saturday afternoon squash practice. It�s becoming a regular thing every week for us to head to the local sports centre for a knockabout (we don�t actually play a scoring game as the objective is purely one of exercise).

I never thought we�d find a sport we both liked�besides badminton, that is. I dislike the gym and jogging, the thought of aerobics embarrasses me, and though I love swimming, I hate getting out of the pool and rushing�whilst shivering�to the changing rooms. (Even though the local pool is much warmer than any other pool we�ve been to).

I think nightdragon thought I was being lazy and trying to make excuses not to exercise, so I was glad to prove him wrong, and actually I found I prefer squash to badminton, although I have yet to gain as good a backhand as I have for badminton; however, hubby taught me a basic backhand technique which began to pay off before our session ended.

We�ve even bought our own squash rackets and I�ve bought no less than three squash dresses so I�m properly attired.

The National Sports Centre is being threatened with closure in March 2004, although there is a petition to save it and a public meeting is being held soon with the local council to discuss its fate. It has even been ruled out of use should London succeed in its bid for the 2012 Olympics.

I only hope that it can be saved. It really would be a ridiculous waste of an excellent resource to shut down this famous institution.


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-