"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Dam!

12 February 2003 ~ 14:22

Mark and I have just returned from a two-day trip to Amsterdam. Unfortunately�wouldn't you believe it?�my back gave out the very day that we were due to fly out and continued to pain me throughout the entire break. However, I was determined not to let it stop me, and I developed a strange, shuffling gait that was the only reasonably comfortable way of walking (sort of like a nine-months-pregnant woman). I didn't want to spoil the trip for Mark, and at least I was OK when I sat down, unlike our holiday in Mallorca last year when any position was agony.

The Dutch are lovely people. They all speak impeccable English and are polite and friendly. They are the nicest Europeans I've encountered so far-so very helpful.

The weather was kind, about 40 degrees�sunny on the Monday, but a little misty on Tuesday which made it feel colder, but the forecast rain didn't materialise.

We did walk around a fair bit but kept ducking into various bars and cafes for the sake of a warm and a rest for my suffering back. This of course included the famous 'brown cafes' where they sell marujuana. We also visited the Red Light District which we'd heard so much about. I actually felt quite unnerved and creeped out by the prostitutes standing in windows trying to attract passing trade. If I ruled the world, prositution would definitely not be legal!

Of course, sleeze aside, The Netherlands' capital is a wonderful place architecturally and culturally. We marvelled at the beautiful canals, took a trip along them, and visited the poignant Anne Frank Museum.

Our flight back was delayed in boarding by about an hour and then we waiting for what seemed an age for refuelling and 'some paperwork.' So although the flight back to London is only 45 minutes, we were glad to get home.

I sincerely hope that on our next two trips to Boston and Nice I enjoy better health!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-