"LIFE'S TOO SHORT TO EAT BAD NUTS"

current | archives | profile | notes | guestbook | photos | rings | contact | host

Perching here and gathering my thoughts ...

Autumn's op and a day out in Lewes

19 April 2006 ~ 18:36

Autumn had her operation last Wednesday and seems to have recovered well. We took her back to the vets on Saturday for a post-op check and they said she was doing fine, but then she developed a swelling above the wound and I returned with her yesterday. However the vet, a nice Aussie girl who has a pet rat of her own called Ollie, said she thought it was just a post-operative swelling and gave her an injection of anti-inflammatory med. She is confined to her pet carrier at the moment to restrict her movement. I feel sorry for her not being able to get out and free-range.

I've been off work for the last week for Easter but I go back tomorrow. On Monday Mum & I went out for the day to the delightful East Sussex town of Lewes (pronounced Lewis). We checked out the shops and went to the castle which dates back to shortly after the Norman Conquest. They had a room there filled with medieval costumes which you could dress up in. The views from the top of the castles over the Sussex Downs were amazing although it was quite windy.

In Lewes there is also a house once owned by Anne of Cleves, the fifth wife of Henry VIII, although she is not thought to have ever lived there. Mum & I did not get time to visit the house but I was so impressed with the 16th Century hotel in Lewes the White Hart Hotel that I have booked Nightdragon & I in to stay there the weekend of June 3rd. It has an indoor pool and fitness centre so it should be a great break. I hope the weather is good that weekend!


Stored nuts | Future acorns


-